RFC: Delegate Optimisations in Governance: 1

• Title: Delegate Optimisations in Governance 1
  • Author(s): river0x
  • Related Discussions: N/A
  • Submission Date: 23 Nov 2022

Simple Summary

I propose, with the approval of the DAO, to automatically segregate delegates based on participation. This will increase participation in governance by rewarding the most active delegates and mean greater representation in decisions reached.

Abstract

Disclaimer: I am a senior researcher at Euler Labs. However, the following comments and views are my own and do not represent the positions of any affiliated organisations.

Euler’s governance is a credit to the protocol. Contentious issues get worked out and agreeable proposals are quickly approved. We should be proud of the ecosystem that has flourished.

Nevertheless, there is a growing problem among some delegates. Many have a sizable EUL delegation, and yet contribute very little, if anything, to the governance of the protocol. By my estimates (taken from app.euler.finance/delegates), some 30K EUL is currently delegated to delegates that do not vote / contribute.

Motivation

This is problematic because contentious votes like EIP24 do not have the full weight of the community behind them: voices remain unheard. So long as delegations continue to inactive delegates, some voting power remains unused.

I propose the splitting of delegates into two groups: Active Delegates and Public Delegates. This is the first step in my DOG (Delegate Optimization in Governance) plan, which ultimately aims to codify the lifecycle of a proposal, though more on this later.

Specification

My proposed solution is to classify delegates into two tiers (for now):

• Public delegates (no change required)
  • Active delegates (details mostly worked out, implementation is purely on the front end)